Contact Us

THANKS FOR YOUR INTEREST IN COGNIZANT.

We'll be in touch soon!

Cognizant ist stolz auf seinen erfahrenen und unabhängigen Verwaltungsrat.

Neben CEO Francisco D’Souza gehören unserem Verwaltungsrat bekannte Branchenkenner an, die langjährige Geschäftskenntnisse einbringen und strategische Einblicke eröffnen. So können wir unser Unternehmen immer weiter stärken und unsere Kunden noch besser betreuen.

Zein Abdalla
Ausschüsse: Revision, Ernennung und Corporate Governance

Zein Abdalla wurde im September 2015 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen. Davor war er von September 2012 bis zu seinem Ausscheiden im Dezember 2014 als Präsident von PepsiCo, Inc. tätig, einem weltweit führenden Getränke- und Lebensmittelkonzern. Vor dieser Zeit fungierte er als Chief Executive Officer von PepsiCo Europe, einer Sparte von PepsiCo. Diese Position trat er im November 2009 an; ab Januar 2006 amtierte er als Präsident von PepsiCo für die Region Europa. Davor bekleidete er seit dem Beginn seiner Beschäftigung im Jahr 1995 verschiedene Führungspositionen bei PepsiCo, darunter die des General Managers des europäischen Getränkegeschäfts von PepsiCo, des Generals Managers von Tropicana Europe und die des Franchise Vice President für Pakistan und die Golfregion.

Seit dem Jahr 2012 gehört Abdalla dem Verwaltungsrat von The TJX Companies, Inc. an und ist dort Mitglied des Ausschusses für Corporate Governance und des Finanzausschusses.

Zein Abdalla besitzt einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Science im Bereich Elektrotechnik vom Imperial College der Universität London.

Betsy S. Atkins
Ausschüsse: Finanzpolitik

Frau Atkins ist seit April 2017 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats. Ab 1994 war sie CEO von Baja LLC, einer Venture Capital Investmentfirma. Von 2009 bis zum Verkauf an die SAP AG im Jahr 2010 war sie Vorstandsvorsitzende und CEO von Clear Standards, einem Anbieter für nachhaltige Energiemanagement-Software. Außerdem war sie von 1991 bis zum Verkauf 1993 Vorstandsvorsitzende und CEO von NCI Inc., einer Firma für Functional Food. Frau Atkins war 1989 außerdem eine der Gründerinnen von Ascend Communications, einem Hersteller von Kommunikationselektronik, und saß dort ebenfalls im Vorstand bis die Firma 1999 von Lucent Technologies aufgekauft wurde.

Frau Atkins ist seit 2011 im Vorstand der Schneider Electric SE tätig, wo sie derzeit im Strategieausschuss tätig ist. Sie ist seit 2013 im Vorstand der HD Supply Holdings, Inc. tätig, wo sie derzeit Unabhängiger Lead Director, Vorsitzender des Nominierungs- und Corporate Governance Committee und Mitglied des Vergütungsausschusses ist. Sie ist seit 2015 auch im Vorstand der SL Green Realty Corp. tätig, wo sie derzeit im Audit Committee tätig ist. Sie ist Beraterin von SAP und Mitglied des Vorstands von Volvo Car AB. Frau Atkins diente vorher von den Vorständen von Darden Restaurants, Inc. von 2014 bis 2015, Ciber, Inc. im Jahr 2014, Wix.com Ltd. von 2013 bis 2014, Chicos FAS, Inc. von 2004 bis 2013 und SunPower Corporation Von 2005 bis 2012

Atkins besitzt einen Bachelorabschluss von der Universität von Massachusetts in Amherst.

Maureen Breakiron-Evans
Ausschüsse: Revision (Vorsitz), Ernennung und Corporate Governance

Maureen Breakiron-Evans wurde im Mai 2009 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen. Von Januar 2007 bis April 2008 fungierte sie als Chief Financial Officer von Towers Perrin. Zwischen Februar 2005 und Oktober 2006 war sie als Vice President und General Auditor bei der CIGNA Corporation tätig. Dort war sie für das Risikomanagement des Unternehmens sowie für die Innenrevision verantwortlich.

Von 2001 bis 2004 amtierte sie als EVP und Chief Financial Officer von Inovant, LLC, der unternehmenseigenen Firma von Visa für die Technologieentwicklung und die Transaktionsverarbeitung. Davor bekleidete sie mehrere Positionen bei der Transamerica Corporation, einem Anbieter von Versicherungen und Finanzdienstleistungen. So fungierte sie als Vice President und General Auditor, Vice President of Control and Services sowie als Präsidentin der Transamerica Business Technologies Corp. Sie begann ihre Laufbahn als Wirtschaftsprüferin und war schliesslich als Audit Partner bei Arthur Andersen & Co. tätig.

Seit 2012 gehört Breakiron-Evans dem Verwaltungsrat von Heartland Payment Systems, Inc. an, einem Dienstleister für die Zahlungsverarbeitung, wo sie derzeit dem Revisionsausschuss vorsteht. Ferner ist sie seit 2015 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats von Ally Financial Inc., einem Dienstleister für die Zahlungsverarbeitung, bei dem sie aktuell dem Revisionsausschuss angehört. Zuvor gehörte sie dem Verwaltungsrat der Federal Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh an, einer staatlich geförderten Genossenschaftsbank, sowie der Direktbank ING Direct.

Breakiron-Evans besitzt einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Business Administration der Stetson University, einen Master of Business Administration der Harvard Business School und einen Master of Liberal Arts der Stanford University. Sie ist zudem als amtlich zugelassene Wirtschaftsprüferin im US-Bundesstaat Kalifornien tätig.

Jonathan Chadwick
Ausschüsse: Audit

Jonathan Chadwick wurde im April 2016 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen. Zuletzt fungierte er als Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer und Chief Operating Officer von VMware, Inc., einem Unternehmen für Virtualisierungs- und Cloud-Infrastruktur-Lösungen. Im Februar 2016 verliess er das Unternehmen, um sich stärker in der Beratung anderer Firmen zu engagieren. Chadwick war als Executive Vice President und Chief Financial Officer von VMware tätig, seit er im November 2012 zum Unternehmen kam. Vor seiner Zeit bei VMware amtierte Chadwick als Chief Financial Officer von Skype und als Vice President bei der Microsoft Corporation, seit diese Skype im Oktober 2011 übernommen hatte. Vor Skype war Chadwick von Juni 2010 bis Februar 2011 als Executive Vice President und Chief Financial Officer bei McAfee, Inc. beschäftigt, einem Anbieter von Sicherheitstechnologien. Zwischen 1997 und 2010 bekleidete er verschiedene Positionen bei Cisco Systems, Inc., darunter die des Senior Vice President, CFO – Global Consumer Markets, Senior Vice President, Controller und Principal Accounting Officer sowie Vice President, Corporate Finance & Planning. Ferner war er für die Wirtschaftsprüfer von Coopers & Lybrand tätig, wo er verschiedene Funktionen in den USA und in Grossbritannien ausübte.

Chadwick ist seit 2011 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats von F5 Networks, Inc., wo er derzeit als Vorsitzender des Revisionsausschusses amtiert.

Chadwick ist als vereidigter Buchprüfer in England und Wales zugelassen und besitzt einen mit Auszeichnung bestandenen Abschluss in Elektrotechnik und Elektronik der Universität Bath (Grossbritannien).

John M. Dineen
Ausschüsse: Finanzpolitik

Herr Dineen wurde im April 2017 in den Vorstand berufen. Er arbeitete ab Januar 2015 bei Clayton, Dubilier & Rice LLC, einer Private Equity Firma, als Operating Advisor. Zwischen 1986 und Oktober 2014 hatte Herr Dineen verschiedene leitende Positionen bei General Eletrics inne, u. a. als CEO von GE Healthcare, CEO von GE Transportation, als Präsident von GE Plastics, General Manager der Energiesparte von GE und General Manager der GE-Sparten Hausgeräte, Mikrowellen und Klimaanlagen.

Herr Dineen ist seit 2015 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats von Merrimack Pharmaceuticals und sitzt dem Revisionsausschuss vor.

Herr Dineen absolvierte seinen Bachelor in Biologie und Informatik an der Universität von Vermont.

Francisco D'Souza, Chief Executive Officer
Ausschüsse: Finanzpolitik (Vorsitz)

D’Souza fungiert als CEO von Cognizant und gehört dem Verwaltungsrat an. Cognizant ist ein führendes Dienstleistungs- und Beratungsunternehmen, welches die Geschäfts-, Betriebs- und Technologiemodelle seiner Kunden für die digitale Ära transformiert.

In seiner Rolle als CEO setzt Francisco die strategische Ausrichtung ein, fördert die Werte von Cognizant und die Kunde-erste Kultur und konzentriert sich darauf, das nachhaltige Wachstum des Unternehmens zu sichern und den langfristigen Aktionärswert zu steigern. Er hat Cognizant 1994 gegründet und ist seit 2007 als CEO des Unternehmens tätig und hat sein Umsatzwachstum von 2,1 Milliarden US-Dollar in diesem Jahr auf 13,5 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2016 gesteigert. Cognizant steht auf Platz 205 des Fortune 500-Index und wird in regelmäßigen Abständen als eines der weltweit wegweisenden Unternehmen genannt.

Er gehört seit 2013 dem Verwaltungsrat der General Electric Company an, wo er auch Mitglied des Technology & Industrial Risk Committee ist. Ferner gehört er dem Kuratorium der Carnegie Mellon University an, ist Co-Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums der New York Hall of Science und sitzt im Verwaltungsrat des U.S.-India Business Council. Er ist Mitglied des World Economic Forum und des Science Visiting Council für das renommierte Wissenschaftsprogramm NOVA des Public Broadcasting Service.

Als Sohn eines indischen Diplomaten ist D’Souza ein wahrer Weltbürger; er hat in neun Ländern gelebt und viele weitere bereist. Er erwarb seinen Bachelor-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaft an der University of East Asia und den Master-Anschluss an der Carnegie Mellon University.

John N. Fox, Jr.
Ausschüsse: Entschädigung (Vorsitz), Ernennung und Corporate Governance

John Fox wurde im Dezember 2007 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen. Von 1998 bis 2003 war er als stellvertretender Vorsitzender bei Deloitte & Touche LLP und als Global Director (Strategic Clients) bei Deloitte Consulting tätig. Zwischen 1968 und 2003 bekleidete Fox verschiedene andere Positionen bei Deloitte Consulting und neben seinen Pflichten als Vice Chairman und Global Director gehörte er auch dem Verwaltungsrat von Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu an und war von 1998 bis 2003 Mitglied des Governance (Executive) Comittee.

Seit 2005 gehört Fox dem Verwaltungsrat von VASCO Data Security International, Inc. an, wo er gegenwärtig auch als Vorsitzender des Entschädigungsausschusses und als Mitglied des Revisionsausschusses sowie des Ausschusses für Ernennungen und Corporate Governance fungiert. Ferner ist er als Treuhänder des Wabash College und der Steppenwolf Theatre Company tätig.

John Fox besitzt einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Arts des Wabash College und einen Master of Business Administration der Universität Michigan.

John E. Klein, Chairman of the Board
Ausschüsse: Revision, Entschädigung, Ernennung und Corporate Governance

John E. Klein wurde im März 1998 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen und führt seit Dezember 2003 dessen Vorsitz. Derzeit wirkt er als President und CEO bei Polarex, Inc. (Executive-Support für Software- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen), dem er seit 1994 angehört.

Davor war Klein u.a. als President und Chief Executive Officer von MDIS Group PLC tätig, einer britischen Software- und Dienstleistungsfirma, sowie als Vice President von Digital Equipment und IBM. Vor dieser Zeit hatte Klein die Position des Chairman of the Board of Directors von Glovia International und PRO IV Limited inne, zwei Firmen für Unternehmenssoftware und -services.

Klein besitzt einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Science der U.S. Merchant Marine Academy und einen Master of Business Administration der Universität von New York.

Leo S. Mackay, Jr., Ph.D.
Ausschüsse: Audit

Dr. Mackay wurde im September 2012 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen. Derzeit fungiert er als Vice President, Ethics and Sustainability, bei der Lockheed Martin Corporation, einem Rüstungskonzern, der auf den Gebieten Forschung, Design, Entwicklung, Fertigung und Integration von Produkten und Services aktiv ist. Er bekleidete weitere Positionen bei Lockheed, darunter als Vice President, Corporate Business Development (von 2007 bis 2011). Hier war er für die Entwicklung strategischer Kundenbeziehungen von Lockheed verantwortlich. Ferner fungierte er als President, Integrated Coast Guard Systems LLC und Vice President und General Manager, Coast Guard Systems (von 2005 bis 2007). Zwischen 2003 und 2005 war Dr. Mackay als Chief Operations Officer bei ACS State Healthcare LLC tätig.

Dr. Mackay ist ein früherer F-14-Pilot der Marine, ein Absolvent der Naval Fighter Weapons School und ein Veteran der Operation Earnest Will. Später diente er als Deputy Secretary und Chief Operating Officer des US-Kriegsveteranenministeriums, das ihm seine höchste Auszeichnung verlieh, die Exceptional Service Medal. Ferner wurde er 2012 mit dem Black Engineer of the Year Award for Career Achievement des US Black Engineer Magazine bedacht.

Dr. Mackay gehört der Aspen Strategy Group und dem Council on Foreign Relations an. Derzeit ist er Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats des Center for a New American Security und amtiert als Vice Chairman of the Board des Regents at Concordia Theological Seminary in Fort Wayne. Dr. Mackay besitzt einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Science von der United States Naval Academy, einen Master of Public Policy von der Harvard University, John F. Kennedy School of Government, und einen Doktortitel in Staatswissenschaft der Harvard University.

Michael Patsalos-Fox
Ausschüsse: Entschädigung, Finanzpolitik, Ernennung und Corporate Governance (Vorsitz)

Michael Patsalos-Fox wurde im Juli 2012 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen. Seit November 2013 fungiert er als Chief Executive Officer von Stroz Friedberg, einer weltweit tätigen Firma für Investigation und Cybersicherheit. Bis Oktober 2013 war er als Senior Partner bei McKinsey & Company tätig, einer globalen Unternehmensberatung, wo er 32 Jahre lang beschäftigt war. Während seiner Zeit bei McKinsey gehörte Patsalos-Fox dem Operating Committe der Firma an und wurde für die Dauer von 12 Jahren in den Verwaltungsrat des Unternehmens berufen. Er war verantwortlich für die Region Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika, die Niederlassungen New York und New Jersey, den Bereich North American Corporate Finance and Strategy und den Bereich European Telecoms. Von 2009 bis Juni 2012 leitete er die neuen Initiativen von McKinsey im Bereich globale Wachstumschancen für Daten und Software.

Patsalos-Fox ist in Zypern geboren und hat in Australien, der Schweiz, in Grossbritannien und in den USA gelebt. Er besitzt einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Science in Informatik und reiner Mathematik der Universität von Sydney, Australien, und einen mit Auszeichnung erworbenen MBA-Abschluss des International Institute of Management Development (IMD) in Lausanne (Schweiz).

Robert E. Weissman
Ausschüsse: Entschädigung, Ernennung und Corporate Governance

Robert E. Weissman wurde im Mai 2001 in unseren Verwaltungsrat berufen. 2001 ging er in den Ruhestand, nachdem er fast 30 Jahre als Chief Executive Officer mehrerer börsennotierter Unternehmen tätig war. Zuletzt fungierte er als Chairman of the Board of Directors von IMS Health, einem Informationsdienstleister für die Pharmaindustrie und das Gesundheitswesen. Zwischen 1998 und 1999 amtierte er als Chairman und Chief Executive Officer von IMS Health. Vor seiner Anstellung bei IMS Health war er Chairman und Chief Executive Officer bei der Cognizant Corporation und, vor dieser Zeit, Chairman und Chief Executive Officer von The Dun & Bradstreet Corporation. Vor seiner Ernennung zum Chairman und Chief Executive Officer der Dun & Bradstreet Corporation im Jahr 1995 bekleidete er ab 1985 die Position des Chief Operating Officers der Firma. Im Mai 1979 fing er bei der Dun & Bradstreet Corporation an, als das Unternehmen die Computer-Time-Sharing-Firma National CSS übernahm, deren President und Chief Executive Officer er war.

Seit seinem Rückzug ist Weissman als Chairman von Shelburne Partners tätig, einer privaten Investmentfirma, die mit aufstrebenden Unternehmen in den USA und in Europa zusammenarbeitet. Davor gehörte er dem Verwaltungsrat der State Street Corporation sowie von Pitney Bowes, Inc. an.

Weissman machte seinen Abschluss am Babson College im Jahr 1964. Er gehört dem Kuratorium des Babson College an. 1995 wurde ihm von der Hochschule ein Ehrendoktortitel in Jura verliehen.

Verwaltungsrat | Unternehmensübersicht | Cognizant

Cognizant Business Consulting
Helping organizations engage people and uncover insight from data to shape the products, services and experiences they offer
Learn More
  • Working to reshape business models, modernize products and enhance customer experiences to drive growth.
  • Reinventing and managing your most essential business processes with new ways of working.
  • Simplifying, modernizing and securing the IT infrastructure and applications that are the backbone of your business.
Cognizant Business Consulting
Helping organizations engage people and uncover insight from data to shape the products, services and experiences they offer
Learn More

Contact Us

THANKS FOR YOUR INTEREST IN COGNIZANT.

We'll be in touch soon!

Cognizant prides itself on having a diverse, experienced and independent board of directors.

In addition to Francisco D’Souza, our Chief Executive Officer, our board comprises prominent industry executives who apply their many years of business success and offer strategic insights that help continuously strengthen the business and enable us to better serve our clients.

Zein Abdalla
Committees: Audit; Nominating and Corporate Governance

Mr. Abdalla was elected to our Board of Directors in September 2015. Previously, he was the President of PepsiCo, Inc., a leading global food, snack and beverage company, from September 2012 through his retirement in December 2014. Prior thereto he served as Chief Executive Officer of PepsiCo Europe, a division of PepsiCo, starting in November 2009 and as President, PepsiCo Europe Region starting in January 2006. He previously held a variety of senior positions at PepsiCo since he joined that company in 1995, including as General Manager of PepsiCo's European Beverage Business, General Manager of Tropicana Europe and Franchise Vice President for Pakistan and the Gulf region.

Mr. Abdalla has served on the Board of Directors of The TJX Companies, Inc. since 2012, where he is currently a member of the Corporate Governance Committee and the Finance Committee.

Mr. Abdalla received a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Imperial College, London University.

Betsy S. Atkins
Committees: Financial Policy

Ms. Atkins joined our Board of Directors in April 2017. She has served as Chief Executive Officer of Baja LLC, a venture capital investment firm, since 1994. Previously, she served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Clear Standards, Inc., a provider of energy management and sustainability software and solutions, from 2009 until its sale to SAP AG in 2010.  She also previously served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of NCI, Inc., a neutraceutical functional food company, from 1991 through its sale in 1993. Ms. Atkins co-founded Ascend Communications, a manufacturer of communications equipment, in 1989, where she was also a member of the board of directors until its acquisition by Lucent Technologies in 1999.

Ms. Atkins has served on the board of directors of Schneider Electric SE since 2011, where she is currently serving on the Strategy Committee. She has served on the board of directors of HD Supply Holdings, Inc. since 2013, where she is currently the Independent Lead Director, Chairman of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee and a member of the Compensation Committee. She has also served on the board of directors of SL Green Realty Corp. since 2015, where she is currently serving on the Audit Committee. She is an advisor to SAP and a member of board of directors of Volvo Car AB. Ms. Atkins previously served on the boards of directors of Darden Restaurants, Inc. from 2014 to 2015, Ciber, Inc. in 2014, Wix.com Ltd. from 2013 to 2014, Chico's FAS, Inc. from 2004 to 2013 and SunPower Corporation from 2005 to 2012.

Ms. Atkins holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Maureen Breakiron-Evans
Committees: Audit (Chair); Nominating and Corporate Governance

Ms. Breakiron-Evans was elected to our Board of Directors in May 2009. She served as Chief Financial Officer of Towers Perrin from January 2007 to April 2008. From February 2005 to October 2006, she served as Vice President and General Auditor of CIGNA Corporation, where she was responsible for managing the enterprise risk management and internal audit functions.

From 2001 to 2004, Ms. Breakiron-Evans served as EVP and Chief Financial Officer at Inovant, LLC, which is Visa’s captive technology development and transaction processing company. Prior to that, she held several positions at Transamerica Corporation, a provider of insurance, investments and retirement products and services, including Vice President and General Auditor, Vice President of Control and Services and President of Transamerica Business Technologies Corp. She began her career as a financial auditor, ultimately serving as an Audit Partner with Arthur Andersen & Co.

Ms. Breakiron-Evans has served on the Board of Directors of Heartland Payment Systems, Inc., a provider of payment processing services, since 2012, where she is currently the Chair of the Audit Committee. She has also served on the Board of Directors of Ally Financial Inc., a provider of payment processing services, since 2015, where she is currently a member of the Audit Committee. She has previously served on the Board of Directors of the Federal Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh, a private government-sponsored enterprise and ING Direct, an Internet bank.

Ms. Breakiron-Evans received a Bachelor of Business Administration from Stetson University, a Master of Business Administration degree from Harvard Business School and a Master of Liberal Arts degree from Stanford University. She is also a certified public accountant in the State of California.

Jonathan Chadwick
Committees: Audit

Mr. Chadwick was elected to our Board of Directors in April 2016. He was most recently Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of VMware, Inc., a virtualization and cloud infrastructure solutions company, prior to his departure in February 2016 to expand his advisory roles with other companies. Mr. Chadwick was Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at VMware since he joined the company in November 2012. Prior to joining VMware, Mr. Chadwick served as the Chief Financial Officer of Skype and as a corporate Vice President of Microsoft Corporation since its acquisition of Skype in October 2011. Mr. Chadwick joined Skype from McAfee, Inc., a security technology company, where he was Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer from June 2010 until February 2011. From 1997 to 2010, he held various financial roles at Cisco Systems, Inc., including Senior Vice President, CFO – Global Customer Markets, Senior Vice President, Corporate Controller and Principal Accounting Officer, and Vice President, Corporate Finance & Planning. He also worked for Coopers & Lybrand, an accounting firm, in various roles in the U.S. and U.K.

Mr. Chadwick has served on the Board of Directors of F5 Networks, Inc. since 2011, where he is currently the Chairman of the Audit Committee.

Mr. Chadwick is a Chartered Accountant in England and Wales and holds an honors degree in electrical and electronic engineering from the University of Bath, U.K.

John M. Dineen
Committees: Financial Policy

Mr. Dineen joined our Board of Directors in April 2017. He has served as an Operating Advisor to Clayton, Dubilier & Rice, LLC, a private equity firm, since January 2015. From 1986 to October 2014, Mr. Dineen served in a variety of leadership roles with General Electric Company, including as Chief Executive Officer of GE Healthcare, Chief Executive Officer of GE Transportation, President of GE Plastics, General Manager of GE's Power Equipment business and General Manager of GE’s Appliances, Microwave and Air-Conditioning businesses.

Mr. Dineen has served on the board of directors of Merrimack Pharmaceuticals, Inc. since 2015, where he is currently the Chairman of the Organization and Compensation Committee.

Mr. Dineen holds Bachelor of Science degrees in Biology and Computer Science from the University of Vermont.

Francisco D'Souza, Chief Executive Officer
Committees: Financial Policy (Chair)

Francisco D’Souza is the Chief Executive Officer of Cognizant and a member of its Board of Directors. Cognizant is a leading professional services company whose mission is to help clients around the world transform their business, operating and technology models in tandem to achieve the promise of digital technology at scale.  

In his role as CEO, Francisco sets the strategic direction, promotes Cognizant’s values and client-first culture and focuses on ensuring the company’s sustainable growth and driving long-term stockholder value. He co-founded Cognizant in 1994 and has served as the company’s CEO since 2007, leading its revenue growth from $2.1 billion that year to $13.5 billion in 2016. Cognizant is ranked 205 on the Fortune 500 and consistently listed among the most admired companies in the world.   

Francisco serves on GE’s Board of Directors, where he is a member of the Technology & Industrial Risk Committee. He also serves on the Board of Trustees of Carnegie Mellon University, on the Board of Directors of the U.S.-India Business Council and as Co-Chairman of the Board of Trustees of The New York Hall of Science, a center for interactive science that serves half a million students and teachers each year. He is a member of the World Economic Forum and a member of the Science Visiting Council for the science program NOVA.

Born in Kenya and the son of an Indian diplomat, Francisco is a global citizen who has lived in nine countries and travelled extensively to many more. He holds a Bachelor's in Business Administration from the University of Macau and an MBA from Carnegie-Mellon University.

John N. Fox, Jr.
Committees: Compensation (Chair); Nominating and Corporate Governance

Mr. Fox was elected to our Board of Directors in December 2007. From 1998 until 2003, he served as Vice Chairman of Deloitte & Touche LLP and Global Director, Strategic Clients for Deloitte Consulting. Mr. Fox has held various other positions with Deloitte Consulting from 1968 to 2003 and in addition to his responsibilities as Vice Chairman and Global Director, he also served on Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu’s Board of Directors and was a member of the Governance (Executive) Committee from 1998 to 2003.

Mr. Fox has served on the Board of Directors of VASCO Data Security International, Inc. since 2005, where he is currently the Chairman of the Compensation Committee and a member of the Audit Committee and the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee. He also serves as a Trustee for Wabash College and the Steppenwolf Theatre Company.

Mr. Fox received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Wabash College and his Masters of Business Administration degree from the University of Michigan.

John E. Klein, Chairman of the Board
Committees: Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Corporate Governance

Mr. Klein was elected to our Board of Directors in March 1998 and has served as our Chairman of the Board since December 2003. He currently serves as President and Chief Executive Officer of Polarex, Inc., an organization providing executive support to software and services companies, where he has been employed since 1994.

Mr. Klein’s previous positions have included President and Chief Executive Officer of MDIS Group PLC, a UK listed software and services company and Vice President at both Digital Equipment and IBM. Mr. Klein has previously served as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Glovia International and PRO IV Limited, two enterprise software and services companies.

Mr. Klein holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and a Master of Business Administration degree from New York University.

Leo S. Mackay, Jr., Ph.D.
Committees: Audit

Dr. Mackay was appointed to our Board of Directors in September 2012. He is currently Vice President, Ethics and Sustainability at Lockheed Martin Corporation, a defense contractor engaged in the research, design, development, manufacture and integration of products and services. He also served in various other positions for Lockheed, including Vice President, Corporate Business Development, from 2007 through 2011, in which he was responsible for leading Lockheed’s strategic customer relationship development and as President, Integrated Coast Guard Systems LLC and Vice President and General Manager, Coast Guard Systems, from 2005 through 2007. From 2003 through 2005, Dr. Mackay served as Chief Operations Officer for ACS State Healthcare LLC.

Dr. Mackay is a former Navy F-14 pilot, a Naval Fighter Weapons School graduate and a veteran of Operation Earnest Will. He later served as the Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), where he received the Exceptional Service Medal, the VA's highest honor. He is also the 2012 recipient of the Black Engineer of the Year Award for Career Achievement from US Black Engineer magazine.

Dr. Mackay is a member of the Aspen Strategy Group and the Council on Foreign Relations. He currently serves on the Board of the Center for a New American Security and is Vice Chairman of the Board of Regents at Concordia Theological Seminary–Fr. Wayne. Dr. Mackay received a Bachelor of Science degree from the United States Naval Academy, a Master of Public Policy from Harvard University–John F. Kennedy School of Government and a Ph.D. in Public Policy from Harvard University.

Michael Patsalos-Fox
Committees: Compensation; Financial Policy; Nominating and Corporate Governance (Chair)

Mr. Patsalos-Fox was elected to our Board of Directors in July 2012. He currently serves as Chief Executive Officer of Stroz Friedberg, a global investigation and cyber security firm, a position he has held since November 2013. Until October 2013, he was a Senior Partner at McKinsey & Company, a global management consulting firm, where he worked for 32 years. During his tenure at McKinsey, Mr. Patsalos-Fox served on the firm's Operating Committee and was elected to the firm’s Board for 12 years. He led the Americas region, the New York and New Jersey Offices, the North American Corporate Finance and Strategy practice and the European Telecoms practice. From 2009 through June 2012, he led McKinsey's new global data and software growth opportunities.

Born in Cyprus, Mr. Patsalos-Fox has lived in Australia, Switzerland, the UK and USA. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in computer sciences and pure mathematics from Sydney University in Australia and a Master of Business Administration degree with distinction from the International Institute of Management Development (IMD), Lausanne, Switzerland.

Robert E. Weissman
Committees: Compensation; Nominating and Corporate Governance

Mr. Weissman was elected to our Board of Directors in May 2001. He retired in 2001 after nearly thirty years serving as Chief Executive Officer of several public corporations. Most recently, he was Chairman of the Board of Directors of IMS Health, a provider of information to the pharmaceutical and healthcare industries. He served as both Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of IMS Health from 1998 to 1999. Prior to his position with IMS Health, he was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Cognizant Corporation and, prior to that, was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Dun & Bradstreet Corporation. Prior to his election as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Dun & Bradstreet Corporation in 1995, he held the position of Chief Operating Officer of that company from 1985. He joined The Dun & Bradstreet Corporation in May 1979, when The Dun & Bradstreet Corporation acquired National CSS, a computer time-sharing company, of which he was President and Chief Executive Officer.

Since his retirement, Mr. Weissman has been active as Chairman of Shelburne Partners, a private investment company that works with emerging companies in the United States and Europe. He has previously served on the Board of Directors of State Street Corporation and Pitney Bowes, Inc.

Mr. Weissman graduated from Babson College in 1964. He serves on Babson’s Board of Trustees and received an honorary Doctor of Law degree from Babson in 1995.

Board of Directors | Company Overview | Cognizant